St. Thomas, the Southern Branch Chapel, can trace its beginning to the first English settlers in Jamestown. In 1661 a “Chapel of Ease” on the Southern Branch of the Elizabeth River was established to accommodate the growing population. This was under the umbrella of the Church of England.
Growth continued and Taylor Hall was built for fellowship and classrooms. The building was named in honor of Dr. Norman Taylor who was priest-in-charge and whose widow generously supported the building fund.
In 1975, St. Thomas moved from mission status to parish status.
St. Thomas provided the Great Bridge community with its first kindergarten as none was available in the public schools of the area.
Ours is a long and rich heritage that is exclusive to our church in the Chesapeake area.